Latest News‎ > ‎

Seamus Howlin to be nominated for GAA President

posted 11 Oct 2013, 14:10 by Unknown user   [ updated 11 Oct 2013, 14:11 ]

Congratulations to Seamus Howlin who will be nominated by Wexford County Board for the position of GAA President in 2014, as confirmed at the meeting of the County Board during the week.
Former Leinster chairman Seamus Howlin had confirmed that he wais definitely standing for election, but he made it clear from the outset that the nomination process would be delayed until after the All-Irelands. 

The contest for the GAA Presidency will noe be a three-cornered affair between former provincial chairmen, Sean Walsh (Kerry), Aogán Ó Feargáil (Cavan) and Sheamus Howlin (Wexford).

The election will be interesting from a number of perspectives. Ó Feargháil will be the first Ulster candidate to stand since Sean McCague was elected in 1999. The previous Ulster chairman, Tom Daly from Donegal was nominated for the 2011 election — along with Howlin and former Tipperary Chairman Con Hogan — but didn’t stand. Hogan withdrew early in the year and Howlin had indicated to Liam O’Neill he would not stand against him before he learned that Daly had also withdrawn. 

lOver the past three decades only three presidents were successful in their first contest — the late Paddy Buggy in 1981, Sean Kelly in 2002 and Nickey Brennan in 2005. 

O’Neill had been runner-up to Christy Cooney in 2009 and thus became the ninth president to be elected at the second attempt.