Latest News‎ > ‎

U12s victorious in Waterford

posted 26 Jul 2014, 13:58 by luke hennessy   [ updated 26 Jul 2014, 13:59 ]

U12 Boys were victorious today in the Clonea Hurling Tournament in the lovely setting of Clonea Power GAA Club near Carrick-on-Suir.
The lads had topped their group the previous Saturday with very good wins over Fermoy, Roanmore and St Mary's Clonmel. So those alarm clocks were set again this morning as the boys caught the bus and made the trip again in great spirits.
A comfortable win over the hosts in the Quarter Final set up the lads for an epic battle against Midleton of Cork in the Semi Final. Midleton had made the long trip to Piercestown last year for our U11 Blitz where they eventually overcame the Martin's boys on their way to the Final v Kilmacud. As expected the game was a top quality match, with scores very hard to come by.  A narrow 2 point lead at half time looked precarious - but despite conceeding an early second half goal, and playing into a stiff breeze the boys dug deep, struck back with a goal themselves a few minutes later and took a firm grip on the game to win through on a 2-6 to 2-3 scoreline. This was a very fine win, against an excellent team, and was an excellent team effort.
The Final v Danesfort was another tight game. Despite some superb hurling from the Maroon & White the Cats scored 
3 first half goals of the soft enough variety. Our reply of 1-9 meant we again faced into the breeze with a narrow lead. Another goal for Danesfort from a long range free kept the pressure on, but this was a game in which our hurling kept us on the front foot.
The final whistle blew with our lads 2-12 to 4-1 ahead and captain Jim Mc received the silverware from Tommy Finn to the delight of all the Martins players, parents and mentors.
An excellent performance throughout the tournament - with only 20 scores conceeded over the 6 matches.
Full Panel: 
Rory Walsh, Jamie Berry, Jim McDermott, David Codd, Joe Barrett, Shane Kingston, Luke Kavanagh, John Hennessy, Diarmuid O Leary, David Cantwell, Rory Devereux, Oisin Waters, David O Boyle, John Codd & Zach Breslin