Allianz Cumann na mBunscol MiniSevens Hurling Final 2011



PIERCESTOWN 0-5            GOREY CBS 0-2

Piercestown overcame their great rivals Gorey in a tense encounter in the third of the Allianz Finals. It was very unfortunate that the weather broke for this final making it extremely difficult for the players as the wind and rain howled around them. In fairness to both teams they still produced  some fine hurling and were totally committed in their play.

Piercestown played with the wind in the first half but such were the conditions they took time to settle. A feature of the first half was the fine stickwork and handling of Gorey keeper Jack Cullen. However as the half progressed Piercestown became more dominant  and this was rewarded on six minutes with a fine point from the right wing from Eoin o’Leary. Despite the increasing pressure Gorey’s defence remained strong and were well marshalled by Eoin Molloy. Michael Codd extended Piercestown’s lead with a fine pointed free but this was quickly cancelled out by a Tiernan Doyle free to leave the scores 0-2 to 0-1 at half time.

The wintery conditions continued for the second half but Gorey’s Eddie O’Brien Murphy made light of this with a fine point on the run to tie the sides. The exchanges were very tight at this stage with both teams displaying their skills of hooking , blocking and pressurising the ball carrier.  Michael Codd landed a good free against the wind to edge Piercestown back into the lead. Gorey piled on the pressure but they couldn’t get past a stubborn Piercestown defence anchored by goalie Stephen Doyle. Piercestown raised the siege and broke upfield and a further brace of pointed frees from ace marksman Michael Codd sealed a determined victory. A delighted Stephen Doyle accepted the Allianz/INTO Cup from Jim Dempsey of the Rackard League.

Piercestown. Stephen Doyle, Ciaran Dunne, Eoin O’Leary, Philip Walsh, Philip Dempsey, Jack Devereux, David Corcoran, Michael Codd, Adam Cantwell,Ben Stafford.

Gorey CBS. Jack Cullen, Ben O’Connor, Eoin Molloy, Maurice Cousins, Tiernan Doyle, Eddie O’Brien Murphy, Charlie McGuckian, Michael Molloy, Calleum Travers, Evan O’Dwyer.